You Never Forget Your First Time

Read time: 3 minutes

It’s one thing to dream it.

But living it?

That’s a whole other experience.

On Monday, I had the privilege of hosting an in-person seminar with one of the largest media and event management companies in the MENA region.

And what an experience it was.

Meeting, conversing, and working with so many people at once — a dream I’ve held for a long time.

As I made my way to their office, I set an intention for myself.

To be fully present in the moment.

I didn’t want the time to slip away unnoticed.

I didn’t want the experience to rush past, becoming just another fleeting memory.

That’s where being intentional made all the difference.

I focused on being 100% there, truly soaking it all in.

Many of us have big dreams and aspirations, but when we finally begin living them, it’s easy to either take them for granted or let them pass by without savouring them.

Setting intentions helps us to slow down, appreciate the moment, and live more fully in our accomplishments.

Trust me. I've learned this lesson the hard way.

In the rush of everything, it’s easy to get lost.

I think back to my first-ever coaching session: I was so focused on the client’s satisfaction and on proving my abilities that, as I look back now, I hardly remember any of it...

And what a shame that is.

It's arguably one of the most important moments of my life.

The first time I ever sat down with another human, formally that is, to engage in paid coaching.

And today, that moment is somewhat of a blur.

“But Julian, why does it matter? There are many more instances.”

Yes, it most certainly wasn't my last one.

But there's only one "first time".

I won't get that again.

Today, however, I made sure I didn’t let that opportunity slip by.

I made an effort to put it into practice.

Because I really do want to remember the first time I coached many people at once in a foreign city.

A year ago today I wasn't even coaching 1 person yet.

It shows you how much can change in under 365 days... especially when you:

  • Believe in yourself.

  • Honour your word & promises.

  • Commit with everything you've got.

Therefore, if you feel like a big dream of yours feels too far away or "impossible", I encourage you to be intentional.

Put a lot more focus, attention, & energy into what's happening right now.

Into the work and tasks you're handling & working on today.

Because that isn't so far away.

Everything adds up at the end.

And when you properly commit yourself to it, things happen.

I mean it.

No dabbling.

No scratching the surface.

Full-on commitment only.

When you tell yourself you'll be "making time to work on your dreams" later today — honour that.

Don't move it to tomorrow because your friend suddenly invites you for dinner.

Don't cancel it because you're too tired.

Don't flake on yourself.

Keep the promises you make to yourself.

It makes all the difference.

Your brain starts associating & putting together that you are indeed the priority.

You continually send the signal to your brain & the rest of your body that when you say something, you do it.

So when you tell yourself (& your brain) that you will be a coach even if you're "too young" & "haven't done much of it before", your brain & your entire being believe it.

Why?

Because every other thing you said you would do, you did.

So start small, my friends.

There is room & opportunity for you to put this into practice with every single thing in your day.

No matter how small or how big.

It isn't about "finding motivation" or "needing a goal".

It's about being intentional & making purposeful decisions.

Daily, small-scale decisions, to be specific.

Those that (the more you do it) will eventually condition & prime you to develop the identity & become the person who simply does those things.

As I entered the building that morning, I looked around.

I took everything in.

Every step I took.

Every person that was walking in the lobby.

In the elevator.

I made the decision, at every little moment since I had entered the premises (until I left), to pay attention.

To be fully present.

To not think of anything else but what was happening in front of me.

At times, it wasn't the easiest thing to do.

Something or someone pulls you and your energy away.

However, you then remember this commitment you made with yourself & you're immediately pulled back in.

There's no such thing as doing this "perfectly".

You only do this by continually checking in with yourself & reminding yourself of the stated intention.

Then, keep moving.

As for how the seminar went?

I'll save that (plus the main topics we discussed) for Saturday's letter.

Stay tuned.

Thanks for reading!

Much love,

Julian